Have you ever wondered “Is it legal to drive without a license?”
Well, the obvious answer is “no” as you may be well aware of, but what happens if you do? And where exactly is the line drawn? Are there exceptions?
We’re here to talk about it.
Keep reading to learn about the legality surrounding driving without a license.
What If My Licensed Was Just Suspended?
If you have had your license suspended, it likely wasn’t without reason. The purpose of the suspension is to temporarily suspend your ability to drive either for your safety or the safety of others. It isn’t just a benign punishment.
A license suspension is somewhat of a “slap on the wrist” as far as traffic punishments go. If you drive with one, you will likely receive a fine and a potential extension to your suspension.
Are There Exceptions?
When it comes to exceptions, it varies by state and circumstance.
In some states, it’s legal for people without proper driver’s licenses to operate vehicles on their own land, especially if it’s for the purpose of farming. Many young people help their parents with farm work, meaning that they need to be able to drive some of the machinery.
If you have a lot of land, it’s also legal in some states to drive on your own private property. Where it isn’t legal, it’s unlikely that you will be bothered so long as you’re not causing damage.
Young people with learners’ permits are able to drive with a licensed driver in the car with them even though they themselves don’t have an actual driver’s license.
A final exception that isn’t really an “exception” because it’s often still illegal is the event of an emergency situation. If you have to drive someone to a hospital, for example, it’s unlikely that you will be fined for driving without a license.
What Are the Penalties?
Penalties vary by state and situation. The penalty for driving on a suspended license will be lower than the one for driving on a revoked license.
You can also be penalized for driving while owning a license but accidentally leaving it at home, though this will generally be a warning or a minor fine.
In Washington state, driving without a license is a misdemeanor that can land you a $5,000 fine. You may also spend up to a year in jail.
By comparison, in Connecticut, you can be fined $150 dollars for driving without a license and spend up to 3 months in jail for a first offense. If you land yourself in this position, contacting Connecticut professional license defense lawyers is a good first move.
Is It Legal to Drive Without a License? No!
While there are some factors that may soften your punishment, the answer to “is it legal to drive without a license” is no. Driving legally means driving with a license and there are punishments and fines for driving without a license.
While not having a license can be frustrating, take advantage of public transportation, ride-share apps, and other methods of transportation such as bikes until you’re able to legally drive again.
Join the discussion on this topic with Boy Sets Fire by visiting our contact page
Leave a Reply